Wednesday, 2 September 2020

September BGHS 2020 Calendar

        Presentation of RNLI Medal Service Badge Medals     


 Dr. Michael Woods, Minister for the Marine and Natural Resources in the Haven Hotel, Dunmore East for the Presentation of Medal Service Badges on Friday 4th December 1998.   



In 1997 the Royal National Lifeboat Institution decided that crew members who received a Medal Service Certificate as a result of participating in a Medal Service call should now receive a Medal Service Badge. These Certificates have been awarded since 1955.

The Director of the RNLI, Lt, Cdr Brian Miles OBE said in his letter of the 19th of September 1997: - 

The Medal Service Certificate and Medal Service Badge are not awards in their own right, but are a form of recognition that a man or woman took part in a medal service which by its very nature was particularly arduous, requiring fine seamanship, teamwork and dedication. It will be worn with pride by those to whom it is given.

Back Row L-R: Joefy Murphy, Jack Colfer, Brendan Horgan, Brendan Glody, and Sean Kearns, Mrs McCabe widow of Dr. McCabe, John Whitty, Paddy Kavanagh, Minister Dr. Michael Woods, John Walsh, Liam Murphy, David Carroll, and Geoff Power.

Front Row L-R: Stan Power Jr, Stanley Power, Unknown, Ena Power, John Rocky Power, Ned Power, Kieran Dwyer and Louis Dwyer.

The following article was not in our 2020 calendar due to space constraints. We stated in the calendar that we hope to give more information on this presentation in our Facebook Page and now we are giving that information.

RNLI Badge Medals

On the 11th March 1964 a Bronze Medal fourth clasp was awarded Coxswain Patrick Power for rescuing six men from the Dutch motor vessel Jans Brons 2 in gale force winds.

Medal Service Certificates were presented to : - Mechanic Richard Murphy R.I.P.

                                                                                        Bowman Stanley Power

                                                                                        Crew member Captain C.H.Hazzell R.I.P.

                                                                                        Crew member William Wescott-Pitt

                                                                                        Crew member Sir Brian Warren

                                                                                        Crew member Dr. Michael McCabe R.I.P.

                                                                                         Crew member Arthur Westcott-Pitt R.I.P.

These 7 men are now entitled to receive a bronze MSB.

On the 4th October 1961 a Bronze medal third clasp was awarded to Coxswain Patrick Power for rescuing a man from a disabled barge and saving a second barge in a gale force wind.

Medal Service Certificates were presented to: - Acting Second Coxswain Maurice Power R.I.P.

                                                                                     Acting Mechanic John Power

                                                                                     Acting Assistant Mechanic Arthur Westcott-Pitt R.I.P.

                                                                                    Crew member Geoff Power

                                                                                    Crew member Edward Power

                                                                                    Crew member Captain C.H.Hazzell R.I.P.

                                                                                    Crew member William Westcott- Pitt

                                                                                    Crew member Desmond Carroll R.I.P.

These 8 men are now entitled to receive a bronze MSB

This article is transcribed directly from a brochure for the RNLI Medal Badge Presentation held on the 4th December 1998, that is featured on the August page in this our 2020 Calendar.

Our next post is also RNLI related and we would ask you to read it also. As a maritime Barony we owe a great deal of gratitude to the brave men and women of this wonderful voluntary organization.